Angry Fly Fishing vs other fishing: better, worse or just a different way to catch fish?

Hi,
    I've been out fly fishing about 4 or 5 times now and have yet to catch a fish! I'm panfishing with a 4/5 wt outfit and have had no luck with a fly. My daughters, who are using bobbers and worms are reeling them in and I'm stuck waving my rod in the air without so much as a strike. I've tried surface flies, nymphs, small poppers etc. I've read the book flyfishing for panfish and feel my presentation is correct. So the question is this: is fly fishing better, worse or just another way to fish? I've been fishing most of my life and have never been skunked this bad! Would a day with a guide help me out? I'm self taught. I'm ready to bag the whole thing and go back to my spinning rod and reel!! Any suggestions would be welcome.

yo brett

hello brett,

skunked huh and on panfish shame on You!!! only kidding welcome to fly fishing!

My nephew always out fishes me when fishing for panfish when hes dunking worms and Thats ok with me! but what joy you can have when you get a fish on.

1st if your only worried about the body count then stick with worms, worm dunkers usually win the head count game but not always.

next are you fishing in lots of cover/shallow water or deeper water??

also for pan fish in ponds and such I use only a few types flies

#1 choice small olive wooly bugger (baby buggers) if you can get them, I tie my own

size 12 ,14 , 16 or a wooly worm (Bugger without a long tail.) size 10 will work and should be easy to purchase

foam body poppers usually do well or dry flies in very shallow water when its hot.

ants ,beatles , and the likes.

my favorite is the olive bugger no formal presentation is needed just cast out and retrieve in small strips with a lift of your rod tip once in a while just like retieving a spinner.