PDA

View Full Version : Advice on best board bindings please

nickjaypee
04-05-2004, 09:29 AM
Hi, new to site, really joined because I'm also new to boarding - doing ok but live in United Kingdom and only get to board 1 -2 times per year.

Want to buy my own boots and board. Question is, which binding s are best. I have used clip ins, dead easy and quick to get on and off, but all the guys that look goodat boarding seem to use strap ins. I generally just free ride, little jumps and stuff, carving and downhill etc.

Oh, and although I've tried off-piste a while back I was rubbish until this year when we had loads and loads of overnight snow and all the slopes were knee deep in powder most of mornings. I managed really well, weight more on back foot, and turned well enough - second question is, is that similar to off-piste boarding. Might have lessons next time cos i really want to go off piste.

Appreciate any help, thank you

Nick
Leeds
England

MARK
04-05-2004, 06:26 PM
If you just want to have a good time, ride short slopes, and don't go very often then step-ins may be enough for you. Straps offer more adjustability, greater boot selection, quick entry/exit if you buy a decent one, etc. If you want performance first and foremost then go with straps.

Binding selection depends largely on preference and boot compatibilty, but I will break it down in quick, GENERAL selection terminology for strap bindings.

Choose a less forgiving(won't flex as much), quicker reacting aluminum baseplate binding if you are one or more of the following:
1)an experienced or powerful freerider wanting quick reaction
2)a heavyweight(experienced or not necessarily with a lot of experience) over around 200lbs

Choose a more forgiving(flexes more), slightly slower reacting "composite"(plastic) baseplate binding if you are one or more of the following:
1)a freestyler wanting forgiveness on landings(especially when off balance)