PDA

View Full Version : Ride Timeless v.s. Burton Triumph

p. toast
12-03-2005, 09:16 PM
Now I got the width thing figured out (thanks Mark). My final big question is: What about Ride Timeless vs Burton Triumph. Are these two totally different boards for different conditions and uses? I'm sure Triumph probably is better for powder with tapered shape and maybe long carves on groomers but does Timeless do o.k in these departments also? I assume Timeless is more versatile which would be a good thing but does it stand up o.k in backcountry conditions? And which would do better in carved up sierra off piste crud and icy patches that I see too much of?

My heart is in the backcountry powder but I'm not going heli-boarding every day either.

Thanks for any help in this agonizing process of choosing which board to drop $$$ on.

P. Toast

NoKnees
12-05-2005, 10:33 AM
Good questions Toast... I've been riding a Timeless for 4+ years now in the Tahoe area. I'm 95% freeride, exploring the off-piste... Trees, steeps, chutes, powder, and then the occasional high speed carving bombing down groomers... The timeless does it all just fine. The best thing about it is that no matter how much I've abused it, it has the same solid feel as when I first bought it. That's stiff, with total edge hold. I'm 200lbs and not always the smoothest rider, I tend to stress my boards a bit...

Now, the Burton's specs look pretty nice too, but... well, I'm still waiting to hear about a board that truly does hold up to a lot of use/abuse when it comes to the flex department. I'd love to hear they finally have something figured out with their "Infinite Ride" stuff, but I just haven't heard anything to back that yet. But, if you are only planning on getting a couple seasons out of it, and you aren't logging 50+ days a year, I'm sure it'll be just fine...